RSS Feed

Generation Identity Crisis

Every generation is a problem generation. The flappers, the stoners, the hippies, the hard rock, technology kids … and so on. People always complain about the ‘teenagers’ and how they are such a problem and ‘when I was a kid, we never did that, we were never horrible like that.’

Well guess what – you were! Each generation of teenager brings a new ‘horrible’ trend or general characteristic trait. I think now a days, it’s the cyber bullying or ’20yr old’ 12 year olds – you know what I mean by that?  (by the way, I am aware I sound hypocritical in ways but I accept the fact that I, and my generation, had their issues as well. Every generation will complain about the one that followed them.)

First, I will talk about the cyber bullying. I can’t imagine being in high school now with Twitter, and Facebook, Kik, rate me, date me, hate me, …. all those crazy websites that make it so easy to bully another person, and do it anonymously. I know there are sites where you can have people come on and ask you questions, make comments all under ‘Anonymous’ It’s horrible really.

Kids these days  – technology has made it an entirely different war zone out there. When I was a kid – we were never that mean, never cyber bullied by posting tweets and/or comments anonymously … we said it to their damn face!!

It’s sad really how materialistic and dependent these children have become on the world of technology and thoughts of other people. They have accounts everywhere and are determined to get the most likes, comments, followers, friends,…..whatever it may be. From their status updates about their relationships, their ‘fat’ day pictures, to my all-time favourite – the album dedicated to themselves consisting of self pics in their bathroom mirror.  (that being said, I am guilty of posting oneself picture in front of my beautiful backdrop of a shower curtain – but people wanted to see my Halloween costume, so it’s a legit excuse right?!)

It makes me sad to see these 12-18 year olds looking and acting like they are 20+. I know for a fact in the region I live in, there are 4 (probably more) bars that I refuse to go to because they are littered with high schoolers with fake ID’s thinking they are the coolest people ever …. until they are face planted in their own vomit because they are just can’t handle the booze! Or getting an STD from the dirty man who always has his movember stash neatly combed year round.

I can honestly say, I used a fake ID once in my life and it was the day before my 19th birthday. My best friend’s birthday is the day before mine, and we were the last of our group to turn the big 19! And don’t get me wrong, I partied before then and after that. I had my fill and I still enjoy a night out or two.

People want to grow up way too fast! WHY? Growing up definitely has it’s advantages but trust me – there is no nap time when you are older! Life is hard when your a highschooler – because of drama, just stay out of it. Life is hard when your older because of debt, responsibility, children, etc. You can’t get out of all that as easily as you can get out of the high school drama. So enjoy it while you can.

Before I wrap up my little rant, I will tell one last story.

I bought a top, a very nice top that wasn’t too tight, but hugged my curves in a sophisticated way. Nice scoop neck that left more for the imagination than most ‘bar’ shirts but still gave a hint of what was in store. It was classy, sexy and sophisticated. I paired it with some jeans and boots and I looked pretty darn good I think. This top went just past my butt cheeks and the lady at the store complimented it (and she wasn’t on commission) and it even looked great on the manikin. A little while later I was at the bar, having a beer or two with some friends and when I turned around there was a girl who I seriously doubted was 19, wearing the exact same top as me – AS A DRESS!! I so badly wanted to shut this girl down but I think her butt cheek smile said it all. I simply shook my head and walked away, praying for her dignity and self-respect to kick in soon – and that she would fall over and leave nothing to the imagination because I highly doubt she was wearing any underwear.

I really wish I could smack kids these days and teach them to have better self-respect (boys included). But all I can do is shake my head and walk away and know that when they are my age, they will understand (hopefully) and will probably be bitching about how horrible teenagers are and they were never like that….. -_-

For the record – I am 26 and as a teenager I was never like that 🙂 Although I did cause my parents grief with my attitude for about 2 years of high school. My generation – we weren’t perfect either (some of us still aren’t)

So before you bitch and complain about how horrible teenagers are, just stop and think about what you were like. Then just shake your head and walk away.

About relatableordebatable

Just an artistic girl expressing life's conundrums and experiences, which hopefully causes one to laugh, think or smile :)

Leave a Reply

Unload and Unwind

A place to talk about the past, present and thoughts of the future

http://emeverywhere.com/

My life. My thoughts. Your entertainment.

Plutonium™ Paint

Ultra Supreme Professional Grade Aerosol Paint

Lightningpen's Blog

Imagination becomes art when passion tricks insecurity

Moving company Toronto

Toronto Local , Long Distance Moving&Storage

Memories on a Page

"I dwell in possibility, a fairer house than prose," -- Emily Dickinson

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

Officially Gluten Free

Have your cake and eat it too, without feeling sick.

Covered in Beer

by Thomas Cochran, Known Moron

charlottecarrendar

~Weaving Words in her Web~

Daily (w)rite

A DAILY RITUAL OF WRITING

Bababooey

A fine WordPress.com site

Poorly Drawn Bees

Love yourself and the world will follow suit.

iGameMom

Games for Learning

Moolta

The official Moolta Blog

KPHMPH : no speed limit!

transportasi | informasi | teknologi

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

